Stanisławów was founded as a fortress in 1650 and was named after the Polish hetman Stanisław “Rewera” Potocki, although other sources claim it was named after his grandson (see History of Ivano-Frankivsk). In 1772 its name was transliterated into German as Stanislau when it became part of the Austrian Empire and later Austria-Hungary; however, after the revolution of 1848 the city carried three different linguistic renderings of its name: German, Polish, and Ruthenian(GermanStanislaupronounced [ˈʃtaːnɪslaʊ̯]PolishStanisławówpronounced [staɲiˈswavuf]); Ukrainian: Станісла́вів, Stanyslavivpronounced [stɑnʲiˈslɑβ̞iw]). Other spellings used in the local press-media included: Russian: Станиславов andYiddish: סטאַניסלאוו.

Austrian KK stamp bilingual cancelled in 1891 with German and Polish names

After World War II it was changed by the Soviet authorities into a simplified version Stanislav (Ukrainian: Станісла́в, pronounced [stɑnʲiˈslɑw]Russian: Станисла́в, pronounced [stənʲɪˈslaf]). In 1962, on the city’s 300th anniversary, it was renamed to honor the Ukrainian writer Ivan Franko. Due to the city’s over-sized name, unofficially it is sometimes called simply Franyk[3] by its residents. Even though Ivano-Frankivsk is the officially accepted name, the city’s original name was never fully abandoned and/or forgotten and can be found throughout the city in all kinds of variations.

Name change
  • 1662 founded as Stanisławów
  • 1772 transliteration change to Stanislau
  • 1919 transliteration change to Stanislaviv
  • 1919 transliteration change to Stanisławów
  • 1939 transliteration change to Stanislav
  • 1941 transliteration change to Stanislau
  • 1944 transliteration change to Stanislav
  • November 9, 1962 name change to Ivano-Frankivsk (for honour to Ivan Franko)


Stanisław “Rewera” Potocki after whom the city was named.

Ivano-Frankivsk’s Ratusha, the city’s main landmark

Ivan Franko


• 1650–1662: establishing a private fortress of Potocki and seeking the Magdeburg rights

• 1662–1772: Stanisławów, Polish-Lithuanian Commonwealth (within the Kingdom of Poland),

• 1772–1809: Stanislau, Austrian Monarchy (within the Kingdom of Galicia and Lodomeria),

• 1809–1815: Stanislav, Russian Empire,

• 1815–1918: Stanislau, Austrian Empire, then Austria–Hungary,

• November 1918 – May 1919: Stanyslaviv, West Ukrainian National Republic,

• May 1919 – September 1939: Stanisławów, Poland, seat of the Stanisławów Voivodship,

• October 1939 – June 1941: Stanyslaviv, Ukrainian Soviet Socialist Republic,

• July 1941 – August 1944: Stanislau, seat of the Stanislau Kreis, Distrikt GalizienGeneralgouvernement,

• August 1944 – 1991: Stanislav, (renamed in 1962: Ivano-Frankivsk), oblast seat, Ukrainian SSR,

• Post–1991: Ivano-Frankivsk, independent Ukraine.

From 1662 till 1772 and from 1918 till 1939 had name Stanislav (Polish Stanisławów), from 1772 till 1918 – Stanislav (German Stanislau). Since 1939, the Soviets returned the Austrian name Stanislav and 9 November 1962 on the occasion of the 300th anniversary of the city was renamed Ivano -Frankivsk after the prominent writer Ivan Franko.
Ivano -Frankivsk is located on Pokutsko flat area on south-west Ukraine between Bystrytsia Nadvirnianska and Bystrytsia Solotvynska . The area of the is 3.89 (0.3 % of the region area). Subordinate to Ivano -Frankivsk City Council are five surrounding villages Vovchynets , Ugornyky , Mykytyntsi , Kryhivtsi , Khryplyn .

Напишіть ваш коментар